PIP Law and You

Personal injury protection. This is a phrase you should get familiar with. As the best insurance lawyer near me, we understand the intricacies and nuances of Florida’s No-Fault Law and PIP Statutes. Your Insurance Attorney is here to continually inform our clients about the different areas that these laws apply to them.


What Is Personal Injury Protection?

PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection. This is basically a type of no-fault insurance coverage that pays medical bills and lost wages in the event of a Florida accident. It is important to understand a personal injury protection claim. The PIP law in Florida is key because this is the main form of insurance coverage for drivers of motor vehicles.


Florida Statute 627.733(1) states,: “every owner or registrant of a motor vehicle, other than a motor vehicles used as a taxicab, school bus as defined in sections 1006.25, or limousine, required to be registered and licensed in the state shall maintain security as required under section (3) in effect continuously through the registration or licensing period.”


To sum this up, the Statute states that certain motor vehicles which are registered in Florida, such as limousines, taxi cabs, and school buses are not required to maintain PIP coverage. However, everyone else has to get covered under PIP, no matter what.


If you are confused about how this effects you after an accident, accident attorneys work to recover benefits for your medical bills, lost wages, and other expenses that result from your car accident. They can inform you of your rights and guide you through the Florida no-fault system. This is why you should trust the best insurance lawyer near me.


What Does PIP Law Cover?

If you are the insured on your policy, then PIP pays for your injuries if you are hurt in a car accident. It does not matter whether you are a driver or passenger of your own car or anyone else’s. Even your relatives can qualify for benefits under your PIP, as well as others who are injured while driving or riding in your insured car with your permission.


What Are The Limitations of PIP?

There is a minimum amount of how much coverage you are required to carry, which differs from state to state, but in Florida, you are required to have $10,000 in PIP and $10,000 in property damage liability if the car accident caused property damage.


So basically every time you are in a serious car accident your auto insurance will cover you up to your limit of $10,000 or more, This can be used for:

  • Medical treatments
  • Car repairs
  • Any other damages, such as lost wages and funeral expenses if death occurs


Call Us Today

We are experts when it comes to PIP law. If you were in a car accident and are having some difficulty understanding exactly how personal injury protection covers you, contact our experts today. You Insurance Attorney is here for you. We take pride in being the best insurance lawyer near me. Call us today, Miami.

About the author

Leave a Reply

Call Now: 877.857.5677